50 miles and old injuries

Woo!  That’s huge. 

Consider for a moment, if you will, that during this month 8 years ago I was fundamentally unable to walk.  I had just moved from my two bedroom apartment into a one bedroom apartment with my kids and I was sleeping in the living room on the floor on a futon mattress near my piano.  A real bed was out of the question.  I was a single mom and I couldn’t walk, had to quit my job because I couldn’t sit in a chair, and I couldn’t sleep on a real mattress anyway, due to the pain factor.  It took me crazy amounts of time to do simple things like roll over, and tears streamed down my face the whole time.  My new bedfellow was chronic and intense pain, and he brought with him the flowers of depression.   I gained a whole new respect for anyone who lives with chronic pain, and for people who know exactly how long it really is going to take to get from point A to point B.  Point B being the bathroom, about 8 feet away. 

Fast forward to 4 years later.   When I moved to a new state, I was able to sit upright again and manage grocery shopping and I no longer needed help in order to get out of a car.  Well, most of the time.  I still had flair ups from time to time with sudden fire-y jet streams of agony tearing through my torso, but in general, I could walk short distances again.  I still didn’t dare do things like balance on one foot and my toes might as well been on some other planet for all I could reach them.  That sort of bending just didn’t exist.  What I could do at that point was walk carefully to the library:  5 minutes there and 5 minutes back again.  That was it.  I was done for the day.  Wiped out.  Exhausted.  In pain. 

Little by little I discovered that the more I walked, the better my back did.  When I started school after a year of that, I could walk one way to school in about half an hour.  Both ways was too much, but I could go that far.  (Just for reference:  I can do that one mile walk today in 15 or 20 minutes.) 

So……my long and rambling point is this.  Do not look at the first 50 miles of this journey as something impossible to do.  Look at the 5 minutes you can do right now and add that up with the next 5 minutes.  THAT my friend, is how you get to Mordor. 

So, it’s the beginning of the new fall term at school and today I walked:

30 minutes in the dark at 6:30 am
walk to school  1 mile
walk home for lunch 1 mile
walk back to school in a torrent of rain and of course I have no umbrella so I’m soaked – 1 mile
walk home again after class 1 mile
total:  5.76 miles
grand total: Just under 50 miles total

 

My boots are looking rough and I’ve only had them two weeks.  I can see little squares on the bottoms from wear.  Very soon I’m going to have to invest in tougher footwear.  Fashion boots from Fred Meyer are losing ground very quickly. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Walking to Mordor

Leave a Reply

